• SEA Games: Philippines captures Gold in Mens Basketball, Philippines wins Gold in Mobile Legends PBA: TNT Reigns Supreme over Ginebra; UAAP: DLSU Lady Spikers Champs of UAAP Women's Volleyball NBA: Lakers beat GSW to enter WCF Finals against Denver; Baller Spotlight: Kiefer Ravena wowing fans in Japan B-League;

Search This Blog

  • Share
  • Bookmark and Share

    Thursday, September 30, 2010

    College Billiards Tournament Philippines 2010

    Long after the Bata Reyes and the Django Bustamante Era we've been in search for the next billiards superstar and millionaire.

    The Samahang Billiards Player of the Philippines has organized a billiards tournament wherein the players are from the Philippine Universities and Colleges. The said league is set to start in November. Their main goal is to produce new breed of cue superstars.

    The tournament will be called the B-League or the National Collegiate Billiards League. The league will be from November 20 up to March 2011. All people from all walks of life as long as you're enrolled to any school can join this tournament.

    Leading the way for the NCBL are Reli de Leon, one of the pioneer PBA player agents and event organizer, and Perry Mariano, founder of the Billiards Managers and Players Association who are the league’s president and vice president, respectively.

    Reli De Leon- the one of the founders of the B-League said “We’ve invited schools to participate. We want to bring kids who are good in billiards but are out of school back to the classroom as athletic scholars. We want to keep the sport alive beyond the stars of today and we want to develop new billiards heroes.”

    Perry Mariano, owner of Bugsy Promotions that manages former world champion Ronnie Alcano, Dennis Orcullo and Roberto Gomez said “The rising stars of other countries are in their teens. In two or three years, new generation of stars will eventually take over from the veterans. We need to develop a new breed of stars to keep our dominance in the sport. If not, we’ll lose our competitive edge.”

    The schools that will participate in the tournament are: Ateneo and La Salle, which are expected to bring their rivalry to the felt table. Also competing are St. Benilde, New Era, St. Claire, Centro Escolar University, University of Manila, Fatima, Letran, UST, San Sebastian, University of the East, Far Eastern University, Don Bosco Mandaluyong Lyceum, Marist, University of the Philippines, Jose Rizal University, and Mapua.

    No comments:

    Post a Comment